top of page

SCI's membership investment of $99 includes your required annual

6 SCI CEUs and will remain $99 through at least the end of 2028.

No price increase on classes and exams for 2024.

Copy of Copy of Teal Simple Comparison Chart.png

The AAPC and AHIMA are GREAT ways to start your medical coding career.

The CPC, COC, CIC, CCA, CCS, and the RHIT,
plus more from those two organizations as options.

Taking the next step to further one's career is an important decision to make.

Selection of a medical coding credential with
top quality can soar your career to new heights.

The Specialty Coder Institute (SCI)
brings that top quality at a low cost to you.

About AAPC's CPC certification:

The Certified Professional Coder (CPC®) credential demonstrates expertise in coding medical services and procedures performed by physicians.  This includes coding patient symptoms and diagnoses, as well as diagnostic tests.

The CPC exam is a test of medical coding proficiency consisting of 100 multiple-choice questions that assess 17 areas of knowledge.  Most questions present a coding scenario to test proper application of CPT® procedure codes, HCPCS Level II supply codes, and ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes—all of which medical providers use to submit claims to payers. 

During the test, you will reference approved coding books — the AMA's CPT® Professional Edition, as well as your choice of ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code manuals.

Whether you take the exam online or in-person, you must complete the CPC exam within 4 hours and answer 70% of the questions correctly to pass.

About AAPC's COC certification:

By passing the Certified Outpatient Coder (COC®) exam, employers recognize your mastery of outpatient hospital coding, including working knowledge of Ambulatory Payment Classifications (APCs), payment status indicators, and MS-DRGs.

About AAPC's CIC certification:

The Certified Inpatient Coder (CIC®) validates mastery in abstracting information from the medical record for ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS coding.  It also represents expert knowledge of Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups (MS-DRGs) and the Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS).

About AHIMA's CCA certification:

The Certified Coding Associate (CCA®) is a self-study, entry-level coding certification.  Coding professionals who hold the CCA credential have demonstrated coding competency across all settings, including hospitals and physician practices.

About AHIMA's CCS certification:

The Certified Coding Specialist (CCS®) credential demonstrates a professional’s tested skills in data quality and accuracy as well as mastery of coding proficiency.

About AHIMA's RHIT certification:

The Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT®) is a 2-year academic program that prepares students for a career in health information.

833.80.CODER / 833.802.6337

Office Hours:


10am - 10pm Eastern

7am - 7pm Pacific

Closed Federal Holidays

Mailing Address:

PO Box 27672

Saint Louis, MO  63146

© 2023 - Specialty Coder Institute

AAPC and AHIMA are not affiliated with SCI.  Their names and certifications are listed for referencing purposes only.

bottom of page